News and Events

American College of Dentists Northern California Section Honors Dugoni School Faculty Member and Student

Christine Fortmann (right) with Dr. Eddie Hayashida, associate dean for administration.

May  31, 2012

The Northern California Section of the American College of Dentists (ACD) recently honored two members of the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry community at the ACD's annual awards banquet. The May 19 event was held in Burlingame, Calif. and honored Northern California dental professionals and educators, as well as dental students from the Dugoni School of Dentistry and University of California, San Francisco.

Class of 2012 student Christine Fortmann was honored with one of two Outstanding Student Leader awards, which recognizes her high level of achievement in academia as well as superior leadership abilities. Fortmann has held several leadership roles at the school including her current position as vice president of the Associated Student Body (ASB). She has also held the position of ASB Secretary and ASB Sergeant at Arms.

Additionally, Fortmann is a member of the ASB Executive Committee, the Student Professionalism and Ethics Club, several clinical study clubs and the Student Ambassador Program.  She is an active volunteer at school events and an enthusiastic participant in school community outreach activities.

Drs. Eddie Hayashida and Bill Lundergan

Drs. Hayashida and Lundergan at the awards ceremony.

Dr. William Lundergan received a Distinguished Faculty Member award in recognition of his outstanding service to the school and extraordinary dedication to dental education. Lundergan holds the title of professor and chair of the dental school's Department of Periodontics and is highly-regarded by dental students and his faculty peers.

In his many years as a dental educator, Lundergan has served as a mentor to many dental students through his volunteer positions as student research coordinator and student research advisor. He is also a prolific public speaker and writer, and has been published in many dental and education professional journals. Lundergan is a graduate of the Dugoni School of Dentistry's DDS Class of 1981.

Fortmann and Lundergan were nominated by Dugoni School of Dentistry leaders and were selected as award winners by a vote of school faculty members who are fellows of the ACD.

In addition to the presentation of awards, the event also included welcoming and closing remarks from Dr. Heidi Hausauer, a member of the Class of 1985 and a former faculty member at the dental school. Hausauer served as chair of the ACD Northern California Section through May 2012. The incoming chair, Dr. Daniel Lewis, is also an alumnus of the dental school having graduated with Lundergan in 1981.

Founded in 1920, the American College of Dentists is the oldest national honorary organization for dentists. The mission of ACD is to promote ethics, professionalism and service within the dental profession. Membership is by invitation only. Fellows are selected based on their contributions to organized dentistry, oral health care, dental research, dental education, the profession and society.

Category Type: Honors and Awards

Contact:  Office of Marketing and Communications, 415.929.6434,