News and Events

Research Committee Awards Dr. Paul Subar the First Research Enhancement Award

March  22, 2010

Dr. Paul SubarThe Research Committee at the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry recently selected faculty member Dr. Paul Subar to receive the first-ever Research Enhancement Award. The award is a one-time, non-renewable $25,000 grant given to support a tenure-track junior faculty research project.

With this funding, Subar, assistant professor in the Department of Dental Practice and director of the Special Care Clinic, will add Caries Management by Risk Assessment (CAMBRA) to the distance collaboration project known as the Virtual Dental Home. CAMBRA utilizes a medical-model approach to identify and treat the underlying bacterial cause of dental caries (cavities).

A pilot project in teledentistry, the Virtual Dental Home allows registered dental hygienists with advanced training to provide on-site dental care to patients, while exchanging treatment information with a dentist electronically. The project serves immobile patients, patients with disabilities and people in underserved communities. Subar's research project will specifically focus on institutionalized patients.

Adding CAMBRA to the Virtual Dental Home will allow Subar to investigate the correlation between a patient's caries risk status, salivary pH and bacterial activity. Subar also seeks to determine if caries is more of a problem in the institutionalized patient population than in the general population.

"I'm honored that the dental school's Research Committee has acknowledged this project with the Research Enhancement Award," said Subar. "The information we gather through these assessments will allow the dental profession to better understand preventative care for institutionalized patients in our communities."

The Research Committee is a standing faculty committee currently chaired by Dr. Ove Peters, professor in the Department of Endodontics. Other current committee members are Drs. Tamer Alpagot, Leigh Anderson, Sheldon Baumrind, Joel Cohen, Eddie Hayashida, Stefan Highsmith, Parag Kachalia, Krystyna Konopka, Anders Nattestad and Marie Tolarova.

Category Type: Dental Issues and Research, Honors and Awards

Contact:  Office of Marketing and Communications, 415.929.6434,