News and Events

Dugoni School Faculty Honored by Peers for Excellence and Innovation

Drs. Cindy Lyon, Jeff Wood, Ben Zeitlin, Eric Salmon and Dean Patrick J. Ferrillo, Jr. (pictured from left to right)

June  10, 2011

Several faculty members at the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry were recognized by their peers for excellence, innovation, teaching and service during Faculty Development Day, held at the W Hotel in San Francisco on June 7.

Pacific Dental Helix Curriculum Innovation Award

This year, the dental school honored one faculty member with its second annual Pacific Dental Helix Curriculum Innovation Award. Based on accomplishments during the 2010-2011 academic year, faculty were invited to nominate themselves or their colleagues for innovative projects that have helped define new standards of learning at the dental school.

The 2011 award nominees were:

  • Dr. Alan Budenz for his work creating self-evaluations and student preparations for the WREB examination via case-based examination and post-test discussions.
  • Dr. Bernadette Fa for her work on enhancements to the school's local anesthesia course.
  • Dr. Lola Guisti for her patient-doctor communication presentation and student participation block for the Integrated Clinical Science II Course.
  • Dr. Steven Sadowsky for his work developing the implant curriculum, policy and protocol through monthly faculty literature review study groups.
  • Dr. Eric Salmon for using clinical systems as a framework and environment for pre-clinical learning.

During the June 7 event, finalists Drs. Budenz, Guisti and Salmon presented their innovations to their faculty colleagues, who voted to award Salmon with first place. He received a trophy and $1,000 prize to be used within his department toward further learning enhancements.

Distinguished Faculty Award
Each year, the school's Dental Faculty Council selects a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in areas of faculty performance including teaching, scholarship, research and service. Candidates are nominated by their peers and must win by a 2/3 majority vote.

Dr. Jeff Wood, chair of the Pediatric Department, was honored with the 2011 Distinguished Faculty Award. Wood has been a Dugoni School of Dentistry faculty member since 2000. In addition to his role as faculty member and chair of the Pediatric Department, Wood serves on numerous national and local boards and committees, and frequently gives lectures and presentations throughout the country.

In the 2010-2011 academic year, he helped to advise a group of 11 students in their quest to become future educators. The Student Educators Program offered a higher education teaching certificate for students who plan to incorporate dental instruction education into their future careers.

"Dr. Wood's outstanding accomplishments and contributions provide great testimony of his efforts to advance the Dugoni School of Dentistry and the dental profession," said Dr. Cindy Lyon, chair of the Department of Dental Practice and chair of the Dental Faculty Council for the 2010-2011 academic year. "He embodies the core values of Pacific and is very worthy of this award."

Research Enhancement Award
The 2011 Research Enhancement Award winner, Dr. Ben Zeitlin, was also honored during Faculty Development Day. Zeitlin, who is an assistant professor of Pharmacology, won the $25,000 award for his research project "The Role of Endothelial Shed Particles in Vascular/Tumor Crosstalk and Oral Cancer Cell Survival."

American Academy of Periodontology Award
Dr. Bill Lundergan presented the American Academy of Periodontology Award to Dr. Gretchen Bruce in recognition of her outstanding teaching and mentoring in periodontics. Bruce was selected as the winner based on student evaluations of didactic and clinical teaching  for the 2010-2011 school year.

Henry Schein Humanitarian Faculty Award
Marie Tolarova was honored for her years of volunteer service as she was named the 2011 recipient of the annual Henry Schein Humanitarian Faculty Award.

Category Type: Honors and Awards

Contact:  Office of Marketing and Communications, 415.929.6434,