For more information on some of the most frequently asked questions regarding the RDHAP educational course and RDHAP licensing procedures in the State of California, please  review this PDF document.


State Requirements to Obtain the RDHAP License 

The RDHAP License is granted by the Dental Hygiene Board of California. Requirements and application procedures are listed on their web site. Requirements to apply for the RDHAP license are:

  • Applicants must hold a current and active California license as a Registered Dental Hygienist
  • Have been engaged in clinical practice as a dental hygienist for a minimum of 2,000 hours during the immediately preceding 36 months (which can be in California or another state)
  • Possess a Bachelor's of Science (B.S.) degree or transcripts demonstrating the equivalency of 120 semester units
  • Complete 150 hours of an approved educational RDHAP program (this course)
  • Pass a written examination in California law and ethics (separate from this course)

Your eligibility for the RDHAP license needs to be confirmed with the Dental Hygiene Board of California. Pacific provides the continuing education course only. It is the student's responsibility to confirm if college units and foreign trained dental provider degrees are eligible for licensing purposes. It is the student's responsibility to confirm this with the DHBC and students are encouraged to do this prior to enrollment in the course.

Note that the 150-hour educational RDHAP program can be taken at any time and does not require the completion of the other requirements listed above. The RDHAP license may be applied for at any time after completion of this course, when the other requirements outlined above have been satisfied. For inquiries about requirements for or applying for the RDHAP license, please contact the Dental Hygiene Board of California.