Strategic Plan

Transforming the Future of Oral Health Education

The Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry is positioning itself to move to even higher levels of prominence as a leader among academic dental institutions. We have created a living strategic plan which will provide the framework as we evolve with the challenges and opportunities that present themselves in today’s rapidly changing educational and healthcare environment.

Over the eighteen months since we began implementation of the Strategic Plan, we have made many advances toward Transforming the Future of Oral Health Education. Please visit the links below to learn more about the details of the plan and our five strategic priority areas:

  • Improving Experiences and Outcomes While Lowering the Costs of Healthcare Education
  • Prepare Confident, Competent Oral Healthcare Providers for Current and Future Practice Models
  • Embrace Advances in Medicine and Dentistry to Create a Dynamic and Visionary Curriculum
  • Retain, Recruit, Support and Develop Diverse Faculty and Staff with Demonstrated Expertise to Improve Clinical Outcomes and Student Education
  • Expand the Role of the Dugoni School as a Community Partner in Health and Wellness 

Thank you to our Strategic Planning Oversight Committee (SPOC) and the entire school community for engaging and working together to implement the plan. Together, we will continue to advance our vision for the Dugoni School — improving health and wellness through innovation in programs, partnerships and people — and fulfill our purpose of helping people lead healthy lives.  

Nader A. Nadershahi, DDS, MBA, EdD 

May 2019

Strategic Plan at Work — Examples of Key Accomplishments 
  • Adoption of school’s purpose statement, vision and commitments
  • New partnership formed with Stanford Medical School; DDS students began clinical rotations at Stanford and faculty members have increased research collaborations
  • Clinic, preclinical education and patient care enhanced with the implementation of digital technology including CEREC scanners, Trios scanners, and milling units. All students experience digital scanning, designing and milling of restorations.
  • New Outcomes Assessment team formed to collect and analyze data for meaningful use in patient care, educational outcomes, and financial management
  • Redesigned International Dental Studies first year curriculum resulting in higher clinical productivity   
  • Two additional seats added to International Dental Studies program
  • Reform of the ICS, BMS IPS strands to include new content and to foster greater collaboration across strands  
  • Refinement of group practice model into six group practices 
  • Increase in grant activity to support the Special Care Clinic
  • Promotional collaborations with SFMTA to enhance visibility for the school’s community health outreach events

Strategic Plan — Transforming the Future of Oral Health Education (Updated November 2018)
Download PDF ›

Strategic Plan at a Glance
(October 18, 2017)
Read via Issuu › | Download PDF ›

Strategic Planning Oversight Committee

Dr. Elisa Chávez (Chair), Mr. Renz Antonio, Dr. Homer Asadi, Mr. Marco Castellanos, Mr. Chris Chuck, Dr. Des Gallagher, Dr. Alan Gluskin, Dr. Natasha Lee, Dr. Cindy Lyon, and Dr. Gabrielle Thodas

External consultant: Academy for Academic Leadership
Internal consultants: Ms. Joanne Fox, Mr. Dan Soine and Ms. Joan Yokom