Research, Clinical and Community Service Achievements Highlighted at OKU-Sutro Excellence Day

May 31, 2018

Excellence Day


Excellence Day


Excellence Day


Excellence Day


Excellence Day


The Dugoni School family recently gathered to showcase and celebrate accomplishments in research, clinical dentistry and community service at the yearly OKU-Sutro "Excellence Day" event held on campus on May 23. The 20th Annual Pacific Research Day and 17th Annual Clinical Excellence Day featured poster presentations, case presentations with patients, a keynote speaker, reception and awards ceremony.

OKU-Sutro Excellence Day is a long-standing tradition that allows the Dugoni School community to share their projects with colleagues, friends and family. Although there is a competitive component, Excellence Day is a collaborative celebration of the multi-dimensional interests and talents of the Dugoni School of Dentistry.

OKU-Sutro Excellence Day activities are sponsored by the school's Omicron Kappa Upsilon chapter and the Dr. Henry A. Sutro Award Endowment.

The day started with a guest keynote lecture entitled "Oral Cancer: Clinical Challenges and Molecular Solutions" by Dr. Patrick Kyongmin Ha, professor and chief of the Division of Head and Neck Surgical Oncology at University of California, San Francisco.

Student presentations, research posters and clinical accomplishments in a variety of categories were then on display throughout the school's clinical floors. After deliberation by faculty judges, the awards were announced at a ceremony, which was followed by a reception on the school's first floor.

Congratulations to the following students and residents who were among the award recipients:


Removable Prosthodontics Award
First Place - Yan Gao (DDS 2018)

CAD/CAM Dentistry Award
First Place - Kevin Kai (DDS 2018)

Endodontics Award
First Place - Young Il (Paul) Cho (DDS 2018)

Restorative Dentistry Award
First Place - Stephanie Do (DDS 2018); Second Place - Avni Bhula (IDS 2018); Third Place - Yan Gao (DDS 2018)

Implant Dentistry Award
First Place - Daniel Kamran (DDS 2018); Second Place - Kevin Kai (DDS 2018); Third Place - Kavneet Bindra (DDS 2018)

DR. HENRY A. SUTRO AWARD: For best oral rehabilitation design

Group Practice 2A
First Place - Stefka Petrova (DDS 2018); Second Place - Jennifer Y. Chang (DDS 2018); Third Place - Ronald Ayzin (DDS 2018)

Group Practice 2B
First Place - Jesse T. Elledge (DDS 2018); Second Place - James Daniel De Gracie (DDS 2018); Third Place - Jamie Marie Paychev (DDS 2018)

Group Practice 2C
First Place - Nikita F. Kazak (DDS 2018); Second Place - Hannah Janette Christine Hurley (DDS 2018); Third Place - Sojeong Jay Kim (DDS 2018)

Group Practice 2D
First Place - Kenneth Millard (DDS 2018); Second Place - Sarah A. Mathai (DDS 2018); Third Place - Jason Jihwan Lim (DDS 2018)

Group Practice 3A
First Place - Udeeksha Sankaran (IDS 2018); Second Place - Grishma Ashok Patel (IDS 2018); Third Place - Neal Atul Patel (DDS 2018)

Group Practice 3B
First Place - Abby Gail Shalaby (IDS 2018); Second Place - Inderpal Singh Sappal (DDS 2018); Third Place - Kristoff Darian Samm (DDS 2018)

Group Practice 3C
First Place - Rhutvi G. Virani (IDS 2018); Second Place - Timothy Tang (DDS 2018); Third Place - Lakshmi Vishwanat (DDS 2018)

Group Practice 3D
First Place - Sarwat Hussain Zaffer (IDS 2018); Second Place - Albert Scott Young (DDS 2018); Third Place Tiffany Le Tran (DDS 2018)-


ADA Foundation/Colgate Dental Students' Conference on Research Award
Byron Chou (DDS 2019), David Dang (DDS 2019)

Hinman Symposium Award
Ji Sun (Sunny) Lee (DDS 2019), Allison (Allie) Kawata (DDS 2019)

San Francisco Section of the AADR Award
Jacqueline (Jacqui) Payne (DDS 2019), Elliott (Ellie) Schwartz (DDS 2020)

OKU IDS Student Review Presentation Award
Avni Bhula (IDS 2018)

ADA/Dentsply Student Clinicians of the ADA Award
Alicia Hazdovac (DDS 2019), Sarah Osborne (DDS 2019)

AADR/Dentsply-Sirona Award
So (Soi) Park (DDS 2019), Younjin Lee (DDS 2019), Younyoung Lee (DDS 2019)

OKU Senior Student Research Award
Schuyler Tang (DDS 2018), Avni Bhula (IDS 2018)


Heather Leo (DDS 2018), Allyson Hsiao (DDS 2018), Charles Husaini (DDS 2018), Natalie Okuhara (DDS 2018), Alex Meade (DDS 2018), Kelly Nguyen (DDS 2018)

Ahmed B. Salman (MSD, Endodontology, 2018)


Contact: Office of Marketing and Communications, 415.929.6434,

Categories: Awards, Featured, Honors, Students, 2018